Our Programs

We offer a variety of programs, depending on age and experience. For beginners, depending on your age, you will begin as a Mermaid (ages 7 – 9), a Recreational Dolphin (ages 10+) or as an adult (ages 20+). 

On invitation from the coaches, you may progress to one of the Competitive Athlete squads and ultimately, we will help you work towards trialling as a NZ representative.

The diagram to the right is a basic indication of the progression through to the different ASNZ Competitive levels. Athletes can move between Level 1 and Level 2, with some restrictions. Please refer to the current ASNZ Competition rules for more information or feel free to ask your coach!

The ASNZ KiwiStars program also runs across our entire training program, with the ability to attain standardised national testing levels. 

Please click on the icons below for more information on each program.

Click to view our entire pathway plan


For our littlest athletes aged 7 - 10.
Our Mermaids learn the basic skills of artistic swimming, including the concept of being part of a team, in a safe, fun and encouraging environment.

Recreational Athletes

For our younger athletes, aged 10+.
Our recreational athletes learn artistic swimming specific techniques and skills, working as individuals and part of a team, including performing routines.

Competitive Athletes

For our experienced athletes, aged 10+. Promising athletes may be invited to join one of our competition squads upon assessment by our coaching team, with the aim of competing in two major New Zealand competitions each year.


For older athletes new to the sport or previous artistic swimmers getting back in the water, we offer a weekly class full of fitness and fun in a high energy environment.

NZ Representatives

For our highest level athletes.
ASNZ offers the opportunity to become part of their Development, Performance & High Performance Squads, with the opportunity to represent New Zealand on the world stage.


All athletes have the option to fulfill the requirements of each of the ten levels of the ASNZ KiwiStars Program and earn badges to represent the New Zealand national standardised skills learnt.